Fellow Travellers
Pirates of the Carribbean

Finishing Well

Last night saw the culmination of the FIFA World Cup. France played Italy. Settled on penalties, Italy won. However, that will not be the major headline. That will be dominated by Zinedine Zidane. This French footballing genius was the player of the tournament. Persuaded by his nation out of international retirement, he scored a penalty at the beginning of the match the was so simple it was brilliant. Everytime he touched the ball you felt like he could turn the match, whatever the result he was destined to be a national hero. This was his last ever professional football match, what a way to finish, as captain of your country in a world cup final....and then in a moment of absolute madness he head butted Marco Materazz in the chest with such force it knocked his opponent to the ground. The result? He was sent off in disgrace. The abiding memory of his career and that world cup final will be that action!

At Ignite we work with many young people, some of whom work with us on our year out internship scheme. At some point in the year, I often have to take them to one side and tell them it is essential you finish well as that will be the abiding memory. I know as I am a good initiator but have to work hard to finish one project before starting 20 others!

The Christian life is like that. We are often reminded that the life of discipleship is a marathon not a sprint. The writer to the Hebrews reminds us that "...we are surrounded by a cloud of witnesses, let us run with perseverence the race marked out for us." I am hoping that the race God has marked out for me still has some way to go. I am also mindful that I cannot be arrogant in purely believing that I will finish strong. It will only happen if I "fix my eyes upon Jesus, the author and perfector of my faith." (Hebrews 12:1)

I am sure that as Zidane thought about his last match, he dreamt about holding the world cup trophy aloft, remembered as a legend of the modern game. In reality it was so much different. Lord help me hold the crown that will last forever! (1Cor 9:25)

Comments

Matt Bailyes

Hey Gary, Jus been reading thru ur blogs and i think that they're all good and encouraging! Keep 'em coming.

Matt <><

Nikki

I agree with Matt. I haven't been on here in a few weeks and just read the whole lot of posts. I always feel encouraged and inspired after a peek into the mind of Gary Smith. :)

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Working...
Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been posted. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.

Working...

Post a comment

Your Information

(Name and email address are required. Email address will not be displayed with the comment.)