The Nature of Peace
Day 2

My Sabbatical Starts!

It was decided by the trustees of Big Ideas that after 10 years I would be entitled to a sabbatical. Well 11.5 years later, it's started! Leaving South Wales at 5.00am the is morning, Lesley gave me a lift to Heathrow so I could fly to the Austrian Tyrol. Dsc00375_2


I am staying in the lovely village of Oberhofen with a priest who is a great man of God and in many ways a giant of the faith, Father Christoph Haider. Collecting me at the airport we were straight into challenging theological and political issues as well as just catching up as friends. I will be here for a week and during my time I intend to read the bible, books on leadership, walk lots, exercise quite a bit, pray even more and try not to eat much (Weight update, I have lost about 18 pounds!).
This is a wonderful place to relax, to quote Willy Russell "the air is so clean you could get drunk just by breathing! I find the hospitality here almost over whelming. They cannot do enough for you but are happy to give me space to be on my own with God. The local mayor had heard I was coming so came and had dinner with us. Truth to tell when Father Christoph comes to Cardiff I am not sure I can return the favour!

Please keep checking back and I will keep you updated on how life is here in the mountains

Comments

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Working...
Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been posted. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.

Working...

Post a comment

Your Information

(Name and email address are required. Email address will not be displayed with the comment.)