More Wise Words
Developing Leaders

On Being 46!

Yesterday was my birthday. I was 46. Now truth to tell, I don't feel 46 on the inside and its not for me to judge whether I look 46 on the outside....but I suspect I do! Birthdays are not a time for getting depressed or having a pity party, they are about new years and new opportunities. Much of it is dependent on your perspective. are you a glass half full or glass half empty person? 

Images

Now I think I am most often a half full sort of a person. This is generally a good desposition, particularly at the moment! 
On Friday I lost my drivers licence. I am officially known as a "totter" because I have collected 12 speeding points. No amount of persuasion in the court could disuade the magistrate from giving me a 6 month ban. So I can respond being very depressed or I can work out how to organise my life a s a none driver.

In the book of 1 Kings, Elijah takes on the prophets of Baal and sees God move in a spectacular fashion as he calls down fire from heaven. He then slaughtered the heathen worshippers. What was he response to this most powerful display of God's awesome power. Did he do a victory lap, head towards the palace to sort out queen Jezebel. No! He makes a run for it. He throws a pity party and asks God to let him die. It is almost as if he is a manic depressive or a least has a spectacularly poor memory. If God is so for him how can he be scared so much that he runs for over 40 days? We know that God is a rescuing God, the ultimate forgiving father, the shepherd that searches for the lost sheep. However, how about intentionally deciding that God is not going to have to keep chasing after you? How about deciding that God is not going have to remind you "I am still here." How about deciding that whatever Satan throws against , your response will be to look the deceiver square in the face and say "I'm still here!" I think that will really annoy him, and I love to annoy him!

So I have decided that in my 47th year on this earth "As for me and my house we will serve the Lord" Joshua 24:15

Comments

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Working...
Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been posted. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.

Working...

Post a comment

Your Information

(Name and email address are required. Email address will not be displayed with the comment.)