Street Pastors to Launch in Cardiff
Welcome to Twitter?

Calm before the Storm

Images Each weekday, I arrive at the offices of Ignite. Most mornings I am the first to arrive. I treasure this as it allows me to begin this part of the day quietly. Normally, I have got up around 6.30am ensured the kids get to the school bus, done some chores and checked my emails and spent some time with God before I leave the house. This means that in the silence of the first 30 minutes or so I can reflect on the previous day, plan the current day. Catch up on some prayer requests...you know the ones where people say "can you just pray for.......". Inevitably I say yes but sometimes, I forget! So this is the time to remember. I may read the word of God and ask Him what he wants to speak into my life. More likely at this time of the day I will ask Him what HE wants me to share with the team. I also use this time to read books on Leadership, ministry and journals that will develop me professionally.


This slow start in the day I have found to be really helpful. It feels like the warm-up an athlete does before taking on the major event. It also ensures that I remain committed to the principle of life-long learning. An essential commitment of a disciple. I have not always done this but it has felt like a good habit to develop.

By 9.00am. People begin to arrive. The noise starts, the buzz of a busy office. Meetings, phone calls, the post, urgent emails, appointments, planning.....the storm has hit!

How do you start your day.

Comments

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Working...
Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been posted. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.

Working...

Post a comment

Your Information

(Name and email address are required. Email address will not be displayed with the comment.)