Killed for their faith
Kenneth Branagh as Henry V making the "Band of Brothers" Speech

Band of Brothers - Shakespeare, life and the Men's ministry at City Temple

In the last year I have been honoured to be part of the Men's Ministry in my local church. It's leader has become a great mate of mine. Mark Lyndon Jones shows inspirational leadership of the disparate bunch of blokes. In the last few weeks I have been facing a number of challenges and it has made me reflect on what is means to be part of a "Band of Brothers"

The phrase was originally coined to the bard himself, William Shakespeare in the play Henry V. On re-reading it I have discovered that as i get my head around the language it sums up what it means to "do life together" Here it is:

        What's he that wishes so? 
            My cousin Westmoreland? No, my fair cousin; 
            If we are mark'd to die, we are enow 
            To do our country loss; and if to live, 
            The fewer men, the greater share of honour. 
            God's will! I pray thee, wish not one man more. 
            By Jove, I am not covetous for gold, 
            Nor care I who doth feed upon my cost; 
            It yearns me not if men my garments wear; 
            Such outward things dwell not in my desires. 
            But if it be a sin to covet honour, 
            I am the most offending soul alive. 
            No, faith, my coz, wish not a man from England. 
            God's peace! I would not lose so great an honour 
            As one man more methinks would share from me 
            For the best hope I have. O, do not wish one more! 
            Rather proclaim it, Westmoreland, through my host, 
            That he which hath no stomach to this fight, 
            Let him depart; his passport shall be made, 
            And crowns for convoy put into his purse; 
            We would not die in that man's company 
            That fears his fellowship to die with us. 
            This day is call'd the feast of Crispian. 
            He that outlives this day, and comes safe home, 
            Will stand a tip-toe when this day is nam'd, 
            And rouse him at the name of Crispian. 
            He that shall live this day, and see old age, 
            Will yearly on the vigil feast his neighbours, 
            And say 'To-morrow is Saint Crispian.' 
            Then will he strip his sleeve and show his scars, 
            And say 'These wounds I had on Crispian's day.' 
            Old men forget; yet all shall be forgot, 
            But he'll remember, with advantages, 
            What feats he did that day. Then shall our names, 
            Familiar in his mouth as household words- 
            Harry the King, Bedford and Exeter, 
            Warwick and Talbot, Salisbury and Gloucester- 
            Be in their flowing cups freshly rememb'red. 
            This story shall the good man teach his son; 
            And Crispin Crispian shall ne'er go by, 
            From this day to the ending of the world, 
            But we in it shall be remembered- 
            We few, we happy few, we band of brothers; 
            For he to-day that sheds his blood with me 
            Shall be my brother; be he ne'er so vile, 
            This day shall gentle his condition; 
            And gentlemen in England now-a-bed 
            Shall think themselves accurs'd they were not here, 
            And hold their manhoods cheap whiles any speaks 
            That fought with us upon Saint Crispin's day.

        It is clear that a band of brothers is built through battle and conflict and standing alongside one another. I look forward to the coming season and how God will use it.


  

Comments

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Working...
Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been posted. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.

Working...

Post a comment

Your Information

(Name and email address are required. Email address will not be displayed with the comment.)