New Generation Leaders
Servanthood

It is Well with my Soul

Today I attended the funeral of a good friend, Kelvin Murray. I have known Kelvin and his wife Linda for about 10 years. He died of a hear attack on the morning of New Years day 2010. It was said that as he was pronounced dead by the paramedics, his sons Jason and Andy prayed that although they were confused and hurting they would continue to serve the Lord. What a legacy! Hymns included "Here is love vast as the ocean" and "It is well with my soul". Kelvin's brother reminded us that although we may be grieving and hurting, ultimately it is well with our souls.

The author of that song, Horatio Spafford lost just about all he owned in the great fire of Chicago in 1871. Deciding that his family could use a holiday he booked them on a liner to  England where his great friend Dwight Moody would be preaching. Horatio was delayed and the family left without him. On the journey the vessel was struck by another and all 4 of his daughters were drowned. His wife survived on an arrival in England sent a telegram that read "saved alone". Spafford left for the UK and as his ship arrived at the point where his daughters drowned, he wrote these words:

When peace, like a river, attendeth my way,
When sorrows like sea billows roll;
Whatever my lot, Thou hast taught me to say,
It is well, it is well with my soul.

(Refrain:) It is well (it is well),
with my soul (with my soul),
It is well, it is well with my soul.

Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come,
Let this blest assurance control,
That Christ hath regarded my helpless estate,
And hath shed His own blood for my soul.
(Refrain)

My sin, oh the bliss of this glorious thought!
My sin, not in part but the whole,
Is nailed to His cross, and I bear it no more,
Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!
(Refrain)

For me, be it Christ, be it Christ hence to live:
If Jordan above me shall roll,
No pain shall be mine, for in death as in life
Thou wilt whisper Thy peace to my soul.
(Refrain)

And Lord haste the day, when my faith shall be sight,
The clouds be rolled back as a scroll;
The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend,
Even so, it is well with my soul.
(Refrain)

These are remarkable words, laced with grief but with eyes firmly fixed on the goal of eternal life through Jesus Christ (Philippians 3:14) 

So as family and friends gather around Linda, Jason and Andy, there is comfort in grief and hope in tragedy. 

It is well with my soul



Comments

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Working...
Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been posted. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.

Working...

Post a comment

Your Information

(Name and email address are required. Email address will not be displayed with the comment.)