TD Jakes Preaches at Obama's Private Prayer Service...and other stuff
UK economy in Recession and more from Galatians 5

Guy Penrod Leaves The Gaither Vocal Band and other stuff

Images After more than 14 years, ace vocalist, Guy Penrod is to leave the Gaither Vocal Band to begin a solo career. 

"My years with the Gaither Vocal Band have been among the most glorious of my life. Now, though, with the Band continuing in strength and me tackling the new challenge of a solo career, we can all serve our God even more powerfully in the days to come." 

Marshall Hall is also taking this opportunity to step out. Their replacement are not two but three new vocalists all when known to fans of GVB. They are Mark Lowry, Michael English and David Phelps.

I have been fortunate enough to work with the Gaithers on 2 separate occasions. Firstly as the local production and logistics coordinator on the Gaither London Home Coming and last year onheir dates in Belfast and Glasgow. Penrod was a pleasure to work with on both occasions and showed a genuine interest in the work of Ignite. His vocals were sublime and I think he will be missed.

This morning I have continued my study of Galatians 5. From verse 16 Paul continues  urges his readers to live by the Spirit. He completely debunks the heresy that it is possible to live full of the Holy Spirit and willfully engage in sinful and carnal acts as these are contrary to the Holy Spirit. The temptations of the devil are tackled in the passage. The hallmark are that they encourage us to do what we do not want to do. In many ways this is best summed up in Romans 7:15-20

I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do. 16And if I do what I do not want to do, I agree that the law is good. 17As it is, it is no longer I myself who do it, but it is sin living in me. 18I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. 19For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do—this I keep on doing. 20Now if I do what I do not want to do, it is no longer I who do it, but it is sin living in me that does it.

I often imagine what the hours the church in Rome took to diagram and flow-chart this amazing brain teaser which can be summed up as;  I know what I want to do but often am led astray to do the opposite! 

One wonders whether he selected to "obvious" acts of a sinful nature because they were active within the body of the Galatian church. The presence of the Holy Spirit restrains us in a way that the law cannot. Whilst it is true that the temptation will still come against us, rather than a set of rules we have the power that raised Jesus from the dead within us to help withstand the onslaught.

Freedom is not categorised by lawlessness. Those who Jesus sets free are free indeed but they still need show restrain. 

Proverbs 29:18a tells us "Where there is no revelation, the people cast off restraint"  
So why is it that those who have been saved by grace and have  been baptised in the Spirit still entertain some of the obvious sins listed in Galatians 5: 19-21. (If not in deed then maybe by thought!). Surely it is because the battle for the mind, body and ultimately the soul continues. The devil never gives up, he continues to develop new strategies to shake or remove our faith. We should be mindful of and consider what are the evident fruits of our lives.

I love this book!

Comments

karolynn neal

Guy Penrod is "the bomb".
I really enjoy hearing your voice!
What an inspiration you are. It is ironic to see that you have left Gaither vocal band TODAY. I was just talking to my best friend about you and how much I enjoy listening to you.
I look forward to a solo release from you. =o)

do you have facebook?
please list me! [email protected]

God Bless you in your new journey!
xo,
Karolynn

Kathy Akins

I know that you will be missed and I don't understand why you left. The Gaither Vocal Band will not be the same. I am one of your fans. I hope you have a good and glorious time.

Kathy Akins

Cynthia Rumpf

I was very disappointed to see that Guy was not at the concert in Ft. Myers at the Germain Arena
on Feb. 12,2009. My husband bought us both tickets to the Gaithers for my birthday present because he knows how much I enjoy Guys singing. To my surprise he was not there. When we bought the tickets his picture was on the advertising for that date. As much as I love the Gaithers, I would not have chosen to go for my gift because I do watch them on T.V. every week.. Could you please give me an update where Guy will be performing. Thank You very much. Cynthia Rumpf

Sarah

The Gaithers have helped me through ALOT of life's difficulties... and, it's ALL THANKS TO GUY!! I bought his solo album at 1 of their concerts, and that's where I met him in person... he hugged me, and took a picture with me. That being said, Guy Penrod is one of the sweetest, if not the sweetest singer out there!! I can't wait to see what this godsent does next!!

Beth

I was disappointed that Guy wasn't at the Feb. 14, 2009 concert in Orlando Florida, but I have to admitt it was great getting hear David Phelps, Mark Lowry, and Michael English (it's been a long time). The concert was amazing. Guy will be missed in the group but a solo career "ain't so bad" either. Good luck and God Bless.

Linda Knight

May 23, 2009 Today I learned that Guy Penrod is no longer with the Bill Gaither Vocal Band and I am so extremely disappointed. Actually, I am just a bit concerned. I hope that everything is going well for him and his wife and family. I am concerned about the sheep leaving the flock - I hope that it wasn't a riff that caused the decision to leave. Why in the world would anyone want to go "solo" when there is strength in numbers. Hummm maybe a need for finances?
I will be praying for Your success Guy and that your success will be such that you can come back and join in again singing and blessing others with your fellow brothers.
Your handsome face and tell tale long hair will sorely be missed.
Lifting you up to the Lord,
Sincerely, Linda and family

Lesa Gantt-Anderson

I have just recently returned to Christ after over 20 years away and the reason for that initial choice was because of Guy Penrod! I just happened upon some videos on YouTube while looking for some other friends of mine and was totally hooked. At first, by that distinct look of his. Then, his voice just blew me away!! For weeks now I have be listening to the wonderful music of the GVB. I am reconnecting in fellowship with my old church family and friends, as well as making a new commitment to God. None of this would be happening now were it not for what I saw in Guy and heard in his voice. I will truly miss that you are no longer in the Gaither Vocal Band. You really made it for me. THANK YOU!!!!! (Wish you'd come back (-;)
Lesa (Austin, TX)

William H. Douglas

Guy your the greatest cousin I got. I tell every one I run across. Been around the world since I saw you last. Iraq 2006 then the Philippines, then Montana, then Kuwait 2008 and Philippines. Staying home for a while in Nevada going to college and fighting cancer (not fatal though) I'll beat God

Your cousin,
Will
AKA "WILD BILL"

William H. Douglas

Last sentence should have said: "I'll beat the cancer, God Bless you!

Kate Britton

Hi Guy,

I found God years ago, but have just found the Gaither Band, so sorry to hear that you're leaving, but I am looking forward to following your solo career.

God bless Kate

Cheryl

Guy: You are the primary reason most/many of us enjoyed the Gaither concerts to the extent that we did. And while they are all great musicians and vocalists, YOU were the biggest draw. Your voice is spiritually uplifting and we will participate in your solo career and support it by buying your CD's and coming to your concerts (if we can get tickets!! ha!!) I know you need time off but can you cut another CD soon?? "Best of Guy Penrod" is getting worn out!! ha!!

Gale Paschal

I do not know if I can make it through the day without a Guy Penrod song. You fill my heart and strengthen my soul with your beautiful voice. I will pray for you and your beautiful family. Please let me know if you will be in Jacksonville, Florida and/or Nashville, Tn. in your solo career. My son is a steel guitar player etc. in Nashville and we will definitely support your solo career. I wish I could explain the depth of your spiritual outreach. God speed.

rosemarie mcgowan

Guy, you and your family have been an inspiration since the first time we viewed "The Best Of..." It was not only you marvelous voice but also you faith that shines through your eyes, and your obvious family values that makes you sing from the heart. I will miss you on the Gaither VB but pray that your talent will shine somewhere else soon. Thank you for hours of joy you have brought us! Love & prayer

Dale Bogard

Good Luck. It Won't Be The Same

Caleb Hedeen

Please send me a schedule of where you will be performing. You were my favorite of the group.

Helen Richards

I tune in everyday to listen to your great voice. It lifts me up and makes my faith stronger. I look forward to your new CD. God bless you and your family. God be with you. Love and prayers.

E. Lybarger

For those of you who asked, Guy Penrod's first solo concert will be August 30 at the Music City Centre in Branson, MO.

Bob Baxter

Love your work. Interested in your ranch and how you use it. God bless you in your new venture.

Charlotte Rush

So sad you are not with the GVB anymore. I listen to your CD - Best of Guy - every day. Your voice is extraordinarily beautiful!! Best of luck with your solo career, and I hope to meet you someday. You are such a blessing to me and my husband. God Bless You and Your Family!
Charlotte Rush

Rev. Dr. James  L. Verner

Dear Guy,

" Trust in the Lord with all your heart. Do not lean to your own understanding..." and God will keep you in the hour of temptation and will enable you to balance your ministry in song with good quality family time.

Your friend,

Dr. Jim Verner

John Harvey

Good Luck with your new career Guy, Gaither
must have been out of his mind to let you go,
still it is his loss, you made that group and
no way is it going to be as good again.
God Bless You and all of your family

John Harvey

Mike Holoka

Guy,
Best of luck.Your voice will be an inspiration wherever you go.

Sandy Neil


Guy: I am one among many thousands that have enjoyed your spiritual and blessed singing with the Gaithers. I am also one among many thousands that have been brought closer to God thru you. I am one among many thousands that will surely miss you but will pray for you in your solo career. May God Bless you and your family always. Thanks for all you have brought closer to God. Love and Prayers and God speed to you. Sandy Neil

Harold Tinker


I really enjoy your music but ,Don't be offended by scripture".Does it mean anything to you that our God said it is a shame for a man to have long hair.His words,not mine.
He said obedience is better than sacrifice.

Gary Smith

People, this is NOT Guy's blog page! I just reported the news

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Working...
Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been posted. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.

Working...

Post a comment

Your Information

(Name and email address are required. Email address will not be displayed with the comment.)