Holiday
Encouragement

The West Wing & Moon Dust

We are all back from the very hot island of Tenerife. It was such a good time. I am so fortunate, God has blessed me with two wonderful children. We spent lots of time laid by the pool. eating, swimming and walking...just hanging out being a family.

As usual I am reading about 4 books. 1 by Philip Yancey, one by Jeremy McQouid and a great book I bought the day before we left Cardiff, "Moondust" This is a book where a British writer seeks to interview the only 9 men living who have walked on the moon. I have not finished it yet but I am loving it. As a 44 year old man, I distinctly remember the Apollo programme. The book goes into the political and technological motivation that made men leave the gravitational pull of the earth and head off to the lunar surface. However, what it stirred in me was the sense of adventure that the astronautshad and that all of us as kids shared when they headed off to the moon. What is sad is it is unlikely that in the near future that rockets will go to the Moon or Mars for that matter. So in leiu of any other adult being there I tried to share some of the excitement with kids....I failed! They were not in the slightest bit interested and the whole thing, please excuse the pun seemed alien to them.

One suprising success was "West Wing" As a late convert to this Emmy winning series having only watched series 1 in May (to my shame I have since watched right through to series 6!) I took the first series took watch again late night in the apartment. So night one, the kids wanted to stay up and the kids wanted to stay up so they decided to watch the dvd with me. They loved it . So each night we watched 2 episodes before going to bed. I love the drama, characters and politics. I am not sure what they liked about it but am sure glad they did!

Comments

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Working...
Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been posted. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.

Working...

Post a comment

Your Information

(Name and email address are required. Email address will not be displayed with the comment.)