Leadership is Influence!
A Day Off?

Another Great Day

I am writing this during what has been another great day. I have been reading a lot and reflecting on how it should affect the way I manage my life and co-lead Ignite. I am finding the whole process exciting and challenging!

I committed to Christoph that I would try to learn at least one word in Austrian every day today it was schwarzer Kaffee. It means black coffee and not only did I learn it but I put it into practice visiting rhe local restaurant and ordering it for myself!

Another afternoon, another mountain to climb! Today we picked up A friend of Christoph called Hans and headed up to a lake. It menat climbing lots of steps throught the forest.Dsc00591
Suprisingly, I appreciated this as I am appreciating the chance to get my heart rate so I am burning fat!

When we arrived at the lake, Christoph read from the bible the story of the calling of the first disciples which Jesus did from the shore of a lake. This lake was however, a little different from Galilee as it was frozen over with ice! Dsc00593


I challenged Christoph to stand on it, which he did but as can be seen from the picture he did not have the faith to remove his hand from the ladder, and who could blame him?Dsc00595


It reminded me of a sermon illustration I had heard and indeed preached. It centres around faith. Faith is subjective and as such requires an object. Now it would not matter how much faith Christoph had in the ice, if it was very thin it would not hold his weight. So often we put our faith into things that have little substance. However, it does not matter how tentatively we put our in God. As he is as solid as a rock, he will withstand the weight. He is our only firm foundation.

Tonight we are joining Winni and his family for food and wine......This sabbatical just get better and better!

Comments

Winfried Schluifer

Hi Gary!
I took a look on your page and was pleased to read about my family and me.
we had a good time with you, the next morning our children talked with us about the evening. They were interested in what you are doing, my nephew said, that he is amazed, what good kind of music the church can make and what they are ready to do for kids.
Now I have to continue work, i am sitting in my office, all the best for you and your family. Win

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Working...
Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been posted. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.

Working...

Post a comment

Your Information

(Name and email address are required. Email address will not be displayed with the comment.)