Day 2
Leadership is Influence!

Day3

Today has been another great day.

Last night, Christoph and I joined Gudren and Alex for a typical tyrolian meal. I ate deer which was not only delicious but also very good for my diet (high protein, low fat and carbs!). It was a time of fine food and great conversation!Dsc00432

This morning began with more bible study and continuing to read Courageous Leadership by Bill Hybels. I am so much enjoying this time of extended study. Later Christoph and I headed off to Innsbruck, we picked up his friend Winny and we headed for the mountains. Ascending to 2,500 metres I am grateful we did not walk but used a cable car! Although warm in the valley at the mountian summit it was around -10 degrees including the very evident wind chill factor. The views were amazing. God's creation surrounded us. Dsc00497


People skied and snow boarded and at leat 1 man I talked to ran up to 1,500 metres in a sweatshirt and shorts. Originally from Coventry, a place not known for its rough terrain, he was able to do this in 50 minutes! In addition he was at least 10 years older than me!

All around the top of the mountain, one could see barriers. Dsc00518_1They are to protect those below from the effects of an avalanche. Simply they were secured into the mountain to stop and disperse the huge snowfalls that are an inevitable part of life in this region. As I looked at this I reflected on some of the things I had been thinking about earlier. So many of the problems that we have in our Christian walk might be avoided if we had effective covering in the form of accountability. I can think of big mistakes I could have made but for sensible and sensitive advice from people whose judgement I trust. The converse is also true, mistakes I have made when I have acted as a lone ranger or ignored wise counsel. This accountability not only stops us from damaging our own life but also having a negative effect on those who look up to us.

Well now I must go. The cable car, whilst easier than walking, has meant I must do some real exercise!

Comments

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Working...
Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been posted. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.

Working...

Post a comment

Your Information

(Name and email address are required. Email address will not be displayed with the comment.)