Stop the Suicides
The Coffee Revolution

Journeys

Images About a month ago I was banned from driving my car. It was a simple mistake. Rushing between meetings I was caught on speed camera travelling 40mph in a 30mph zone. The result a further three points. This made me a "totter" and I have lost my licence for 6 months! Of course this means finding different ways of getting around. So the first decision every day is do I get a lift in to work, ride my bike (an experience not encountered for 30 years!) or get the trainImages These journeys are giving me different experiences and different perspectives. I see things I would not normally see from the comfort of my car. In the last few weeks, Lesley and I have been leading a group on churches Alpha Course.Images In addition I have been beginning pre-production on a short film on the subject of Love. The connection is in both situations, I have been challenged by a statement someone has made about their understanding of the Christian faith. Being a little further down the road than them I have been aware that what they have said has been unbiblical. The dilemma has been, when should I correct them and when should I leave them to discover truth for themselves? For anyone who loves to teach and to educate formally or, as is often the case for me, informally, this is a constant challenge. I have no issue with the fact that there are ultimate truths. My sentiments are much more with St Thomas quinasImages who had a general philosophy, like the X files, that the truth is out there. It is actual not relative as the post-modernist suggest. However sometimes the journey that people are on means their interpretation of what they think is true is based on their perspective at that moment. Sometimes it is the educators job to accompany them on their journey and help them see things from a different perspective. Other times it will be to change the course of their journey in order to help them see a different perspective. Of course the last option is the easiest because for the educator/teacher/philospher because s/he is on control of the journey. However, sometimes it will be better to be more beneficial to take the harder course. This for some is the road less travelled.Images The decision of which road to take I think often goes beyond common sense and requires God's guidance. The good news is, He is there for us as we seek to illuminate Him

Comments

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Working...
Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been posted. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.

Working...

Post a comment

Your Information

(Name and email address are required. Email address will not be displayed with the comment.)