Black Friday With Cardiff Street Pastors
Dawkins, Hitchens, Gervais and New Atheism

A Wedding, Man Flu & Enforced Laziness

As predicted, black Friday was a bit of a non-event. Most people took the sensible option and stayed at home. We even finished the shift early not that helped me get to sleep sooner than I normally would.

Images-1 8am Lesley got a call from one of her staff. I had been asleep for 2.5 hrs at that point. I lay awake until about 9.20am when I slipped gently into slumber once more. At 9.40am by daughter called me to say she was stuck in a local hotel and could I pick her up! Well Dad's are made for days like this so I got up, dragged some clothes on and began to literally dig my car out of the snow. Slowly heading into Cardiff Bay I collected Beci and assorted others and prepared to deliver them to Llandaff. Passing Pontcanna fields, a BMW that must have been being driven by a chimp began to slow down as we approached the hill. A basic mistake in these conditions meaning that we were forced to stop. Two of the passengers got out to assist just as the my car got traction meaning I could not stop until I got to the top of the hill. Regretfully for them, not even then as a bus was behind me so I had to drive 2 miles before I could turn around to collect them!

65794_10150157718258761_656693760_8184033_8349241_n I then rushed home and got changed then headed back into town to attend the wedding of Mark Beacher & Meg Davies. Lesley and I were honoured to be able to pray for their marriage publicly at the service. Beci came with us and took advantage of the "no shows" due to the weather and also came to the reception. What a lovely day it was. Apparently as Meg began to plan the day she began to pray for snow. She certainly got her prayers answered!

166348_10150157718498761_656693760_8184045_2164141_n

The only annoying thing for me was I was completely knackered and was starting with a cold. The news that all the church services were cancelled on Sunday meant that I could sleep late the next day.

When I woke up the next morning my nose was streaming and my head was pounding. The thing is I knew if I got out of bed I would not be able to do nothing. So with the permission of my wonderful wife, I stayed put. Now generally she is wonderful but yesterday she put sealer on the sink, cleaned the house and painted part of the kitchen. I on the other hand faffed about on the internet and caught up with a couple of programmes on iplayer as well as read the Christmas edition of the Radio Times! By about 4pm I felt a bit better but was also completely stir crazy. I then made the big effore to move to the settee for the rest of the day!

Images-1 Last night was the final of "The Apprentice" it is one of my favourite programmes and this is the first series that Lesley has watched. She has loved it and taken the punditry really seriously! I think on balance was a worthy winner. It always makes me think about Sugar's style of leadership and if any of it could be applied to my situation. From a style perspective I think very little but there is no doubt that people having very clearly stated tasks, boundaries and feedback has much to commend it.

 

 

 

Comments

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Working...
Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been posted. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.

Working...

Post a comment

Your Information

(Name and email address are required. Email address will not be displayed with the comment.)