Happy New Year!
Miss Potter

Sabbatical!

As I write this I am watching the programme "Can Gerry Robinson Fix the NHS?"Images1_5 It is a fascinating programme where the business leader sees if, without any money, he can reduce the waiting list in one hospital.

In February I am intending to take a one month sabbatical from my work at Ignite/Big Ideas. It will be my first break for more than 12 consecutive dates in eleven and half years. As it approaches, I am really looking forward to it! The question I have been asking myself is what will I do with my time? Part of me thinks that just chilling out and catching up on a million and one jobs I have needed to do for ages would be a good use of this space. However, I beginning to be increasingly challenged to be a more effective leader/manager.

So here is the connection between my blog and the programme I am watching! It is so evident as you watch these types of programmes where the problems are. It strikes me that one of the things we need to do as leaders in Christian organisations is not to work harder but to work smarter. So I think one of the things I want to look at is effective leadership in Christian organisations. I am beginning to read around this subject and I want to accelerate this during my month off. In addition, I want to spend some extended periods with God.

To facilitate this I intend to spend some times in the Austrian Tyrol Cimg1338
and the Yorkshire Dales
Images2

So if you have any book recommendations, please let me know!

Comments

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Working...
Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been posted. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.

Working...

Post a comment

Your Information

(Name and email address are required. Email address will not be displayed with the comment.)