Bill Johnson in Cardiff +
The Shack and Bill Johnson

The Shack - It is Finished

Images-1 I finished reading the book by William P Young yesterday. This publishing phenomenon has swept the USA and has now become very popular here. The story is that a little girl is murdered in a shack by a serial killer. Sometime later her father receives a letter from God inviting him to meet the father (papa) son (Jesus) and Holy Ghost (Sarayu) at The Shack. 


It has blessed millions, including my wife Lesley. One of my blog readers said it was the most healing book she had ever read. My verdict? I did not enjoy it at all. The biggest issue was I had no interest in any of the characters. Even once I had accepted the premise of God revealing himself as some Whoopi Goldberg type character, the biggest Images  issue, I was totally disinterested, which is why it took me so long to finish it!

The book is so immotive that I know this revelation will be a shock to some. It didn't hate it. Sure there was some dodgy theology, its just that it, for me at least failed at the most basic level for a novel, it bored me!


Let me know what you think and why I am wrong!

Comments

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Working...
Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been posted. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.

Working...

Post a comment

Your Information

(Name and email address are required. Email address will not be displayed with the comment.)